The end of the DELTA…for now

So that’s it. After 8 weeks of almost non-stop work, the intensive DELTA module 2 course is over. It’s a funny feeling getting back to reality after working so hard for almost two months. I’ve had this week off work and am meant to be just relaxing, but I keep feeling guilty that I’m not doing much productive with my time. Of course, in the back of my mind is module 3, but since I can’t realistically submit that until June it can stay on the back burner for now.

The course itself got me thinking about a lot of things, but it mostly has made me re-evaluate the choices I’ve made thus far in my career. The apparent paradox of the DELTA is that it simultaneously makes you a better teacher and (almost always) results in you spending less time in the classroom. I was already heading down the management path before taking the course and will continue on that route for now, but I do really miss working with my own group of students and having the time to properly prepare for their lessons.

As for the course itself, I couldn’t recommend it highly enough. We were fortunate to have two extremely experienced and knowledgeable tutors and a great tutor to be, who really helped guide us through the whole process. My colleagues on the course were also excellent. No one freaked out and we were great at bouncing ideas off of each other. I’d like to say a special thank you to my TP group (not that any of them will read this…). Paul, Lance, Oli and Iain all helped me out in some way throughout the course, whether it was through making videos for my experimental practice lesson, or just being around to chat with over a bowl of bun cha. Gavin Reid also deserves a shout out for reading through my final LSA and giving me some great suggestions for the final lesson plan.

Due to Cambridge’s rigorous moderation process, I won’t find out if I passed the course until the beginning of February, so there will be another DELTA update around then, but for now I’m going to try my best to take advantage of my new found freedom before I’m back at the grindstone in two weeks’ time, no doubt with some new challenges to face.

Leave a Reply

